Cell Phones: Do You Know Where Your Children Are?

As a parent of a pre-teen, I am seeing a lot of pre-teens and teens dealing with the responsibility of having their own cell phone. I would say that there are a few who handle that responsibility fairly well, but there is a lot who don’t handle that responsibility well.

 

Parents, I would like to talk to you a little about this issue. Now, I realize our kids are growing up in a technological age and in many ways those of us who are forty and over – do not relate to some of the ways our kids are communicating today. I remember back in the 1980’s – how the kids communicated in our youth group – they would write each other notes during church or youth group, or whisper things to each other, thinking all the time that the leaders didn’t have clue what was going on.

 

I realized that the pre-teens and teenagers in my congregation won’t ever have such things, not because they’re too holy to ever pass a note in church, but because cell-phone technology has made it as easy, and as temporal, as a text-message.

But today I dare to question the theology of text-messaging.

 

Text-messaging is easy, and can easily break the boredom of a classroom or a family dinner, and it can put one in touch with people one’s parents never know one is “talking” to. That’s easily enough remedied by Christ-following parents, but I wonder if the cellphone isn’t being used as just one more opportunity to preach a misleading gospel to our kids.

 

The formation and discipline of children, after all, is built on the pattern of God’s fatherly discipline of his people (Heb 12:3-11), seen in his discipline of Israel (Deut 8:1-20) and, ultimately, in his discipleship of the incarnate Christ (Luke 2:20, John 5:19-20; Heb 2:10). Our discipline of our families is rooted, then, in the Fatherhood “from whom every family in heaven and on earth is named” (Eph 3:14).

 

I wonder, then, when it comes to cell phones, how many parents do precisely what our Father never does, and never will do. James tell us, “Let no one say when he is tempted, ‘I am being tempted by God,’ for God cannot be tempted with evil, and he himself tempts no one” (James 1:14). The Apostle Paul tells us that “God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it” (1 Cor 10:13).

 

That’s why our God, through the Law of Moses, treats his people as a tightly-governed child “under guardians and managers until the date set by his father” (Gal 4:2). He carefully works us toward maturity, seeing that we’re faithful in small things before putting us over many things. That’s what a good and loving Father does.

 

A pre-teen or a teenager with unrestricted cell-phone usage (or Internet or television consumption) is being placed in a very, very difficult place of temptation. The company of that young man or woman is now away from the scrutiny of parents, and is now left only to his or her discretion or conscience.  Are there some young Christians who can handle such? Of course. Should you assume your child is one of them? Your Father is more careful of you than that.

 

First of all, pre-teens and teenagers, simply, brace yourself, don’t need cellphones. I know you’re immediately responding with safety issues, etc. Nonetheless, for thousands of years pre-teens and teenagers have safely grown to adulthood without having communication devices in their pockets. Pre-teens and teenagers all over the world do it right now, and they survive.

 

Second, if your child does have a cellphone, this means you have a cellphone. Your responsibility is to know about every call, and the identity of every person text-messaging your son or daughter. You don’t have time to monitor this? Then you don’t have time for your child to have a cellphone.

 

This doesn’t mean you have to turn your house into an Inquisition hall. It simply means your child knows that you love him or her enough to check in frequently to see what’s going on in life. It also means that you communicate clearly that the child doesn’t have a personal cellphone, autonomous of your authority. It’s your cellphone, and your child is using it.

 

Communicating your love to your child means communicating your involvement. The gospel message is one of Fatherhood and sonship, of a Father who knows the hairs on our head (Luke 12:7), who fights for his children when they’re tested, tempted, or mistreated. Picture that kind of God to your children, even if they grumble and complain at first. So did we, and all those before us, when we were first delivered from our respective Pharaohs into a Father’s house.

Write a comment

Comments: 14
  • #1

    Jiri (Thursday, 27 October 2011 21:15)

    Nice post bro

  • #2

    Hruska (Saturday, 29 October 2011 09:44)

    I believe other internet site owners ought to take this web site just as one design really neat and amazing style and design, not to mention this article. You’re a professional in this field!

  • #3

    Pierre (Friday, 11 November 2011 03:39)

    I think additional internet site masters must consider this website as a possible model extremely neat and great style and design, as well as this article. You’re an authority in this region!

  • #4

    Mara (Wednesday, 23 November 2011 04:39)

    FREE Automated WordPress to twitter plugin. Absolutely no registration application on Twitter. Extension may be the highest good thing about simpleness

  • #5

    Konsolidace Půjček (Monday, 13 February 2012 09:52)

    good post

  • #6

    Genc (Wednesday, 04 April 2012 18:55)

    will come back soon

  • #7

    gerterio (Wednesday, 05 December 2012 21:18)

    I wish to show my thanks to this writer just for bailing me out of this particular scenario. As a result of checking throughout the the net and seeing suggestions that were not pleasant, I was thinking my life was well over. Being alive minus the solutions to the issues you have resolved as a result of the article is a critical case, and the ones that might have adversely damaged my career if I hadn't noticed your website. Your main expertise and kindness in maneuvering every aspect was vital. I'm not sure what I would've done if I had not discovered such a stuff like this. It's possible to at this point look forward to my future. Thanks for your time so much for your skilled and result oriented help. I will not be reluctant to endorse your site to any individual who needs and wants guidelines about this subject.

  • #8

    greterewse (Friday, 07 December 2012 10:11)

    I truly wanted to construct a quick message in order to thank you for the stunning tips and tricks you are giving on this website. My incredibly long internet look up has now been rewarded with reliable suggestions to share with my friends. I would repeat that many of us visitors are rather endowed to be in a very good site with so many marvellous individuals with insightful plans. I feel quite privileged to have encountered your webpage and look forward to some more awesome minutes reading here. Thanks a lot once more for a lot of things.I wish to show my thanks to this writer just for bailing me out of this particular scenario. As a result of checking throughout the the net and seeing suggestions that were not pleasant, I was thinking my life was well over. Being alive minus the solutions to the issues you have resolved as a result of the article is a critical case, and the ones that might have adversely damaged my career if I hadn't noticed your website. Your main expertise and kindness in maneuvering every aspect was vital. I'm not sure what I would've done if I had not discovered such a stuff like this. It's possible to at this point look forward to my future. Thanks for your time so much for your skilled and result oriented help. I will not be reluctant to endorse your site to any individual who needs and wants guidelines about this subject.

  • #9

    Juicers Reviews (Tuesday, 16 April 2013 04:26)

    This particular article was in fact precisely what I was looking for!

  • #10

    interview questions (Sunday, 16 April 2017 06:51)

    https://lawrence77pope.jimdo.com/2011/03/13/how-very-much-porcelain-veneers-costs-6342/

  • #11

    kids (Friday, 21 April 2017 14:44)

    Thank you for the update, very nice site..

  • #12

    jiofi local html (Monday, 08 May 2017 06:39)

    It is imperative that we read blog post very carefully. I am already done it and find that this post is really amazing.

  • #13

    sell used HTC cell phones (Monday, 29 May 2017 18:09)

    Thanks for your post. I’ve been thinking about writing a very comparable post over the last couple of weeks, I’ll probably keep it short and sweet and link to this instead if thats cool. Thanks.

  • #14

    cleaning services burj khalifa (Monday, 04 December 2017 11:20)

    We care for cleaning your property, so it is possible to focus for you. Whether in which be moving out to the flicks while we all clean, planning to the Everett Farmers Market and even doing several extra tasks, its your time and energy we help save. We are usually versatile and will customize our own cleaning in your needs, whether a strong clean or perhaps for a particular occasion.